- What the 70% Passing Line Actually Means
- The Math Behind 70 Out of 100
- What AAPC Does Not Publish About Scoring
- Where Your Points Come From: The Six Tested Competencies
- Approved Code Books and the Four-Hour Clock
- Fee Mechanics and What a Miss Costs
- A Score-Driven Prep Sequence
- Setting Practice-Test Benchmarks
- After You Pass: Keeping the Credential
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Cardiology Coder exam has 100 multiple-choice questions and requires 70% to pass.
- You get four hours, which is roughly 2.4 minutes per question if you use the whole window.
- AAPC does not publish a weighted blueprint or a CCC-specific pass rate, so treat any such figure with suspicion.
- The exam fee is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two, and AAPC membership is also required.
What the 70% Passing Line Actually Means
If you are searching for the Certified Cardiology Coder passing score, the headline number is simple: 70%. The exam delivers 100 multiple-choice questions over four hours, and the published passing standard is 70%. For most candidates, that translates into a working target of 70 correct answers out of 100.
That clean arithmetic hides a few details worth understanding before you sit down to prepare. The 70% figure tells you the threshold, but it does not tell you how AAPC treats individual questions behind the scenes, how the competencies are weighted, or how hard the pass line is to clear in practice. This article walks through what is known, what is not disclosed, and how to build a study plan around those facts rather than around guesses.
If you want a broader view of how demanding the credential is, see How Hard Is the CCC Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. For the bigger preparation picture, the CCC Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt covers sequencing in more depth.
The Math Behind 70 Out of 100
A 70% standard on a 100-question exam gives you a margin of error of 30 questions. That sounds generous until you consider what those 30 misses can look like in a cardiology coding exam. Cardiology is a procedure-heavy specialty, and a single scenario about a coronary intervention can hinge on several coding decisions at once: which vessel, how many, whether a stent or atherectomy was involved, and which modifier applies.
Two practical points follow from the arithmetic:
- You can afford to miss questions, but not whole topic areas. If you consistently miss every question in one competency, 30 errors can disappear into a single weak area.
- Your pacing target is forgiving. Four hours for 100 questions is generous compared with many timed credentials, so the real risk is not running out of time but rushing through code lookups and making avoidable errors.
What AAPC Does Not Publish About Scoring
Candidates often want a precise formula, and this is where it pays to be honest about the limits of public information. For the Certified Cardiology Coder exam, the following are not publicly verified:
- A weighted exam blueprint with percentage allocations per competency
- Which competency carries the most weight
- The number of scored versus pretest items
- A CCC-specific pass rate
You may see an AAPC-wide success figure used in marketing around the organization's credentials. That number is not specific to the CCC and should not be read as a pass-rate estimate for this exam. If you want a grounded discussion of what the available data does and does not say, read CCC Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
The practical consequence: because no weighting is published, you cannot safely skip a competency on the theory that it is "worth less." Prepare for all six.
| Scoring Detail | Status |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 100 multiple-choice |
| Time allowed | Four hours |
| Passing standard | 70% |
| Scored/pretest split | Not disclosed |
| Per-competency weights | Not verified |
| CCC-specific pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Where Your Points Come From: The Six Tested Competencies
AAPC publishes six competencies tested by the Certified Cardiology Coder examination. These are issuer-published tested competencies, not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint, so any percentage you see attached to them elsewhere is an editorial estimate at best. For a deeper walk-through of each area, see CCC Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas. Here is how each one translates into points you need to protect.
Domain 1: Reading and Abstracting Physician Office and Operative Notes
This is the core skill: reading a cardiologist's documentation and assigning correct ICD-10-CM codes, CPT® codes, HCPCS Level II codes, and modifiers.
- Pull diagnoses from the note without coding conditions that are only "ruled out" or historical
- Match each procedure described in an operative note to the right code and the right modifier
- Distinguish documentation that supports a code from documentation that merely suggests it
Domain 2: Evaluation and Management Guidelines
Cardiology practices bill heavily on E/M services, so expect questions on new versus established patients, office and outpatient visits, consultations, and hospital services.
- Know how to determine patient status and level of service
- Understand when a consultation versus another E/M category applies
- Recognize hospital service scenarios, including how they differ from office visits
Domain 3: Medicare Billing Rules
This competency covers rules and regulations for Medicare billing, specifically incident to, teaching situations, and shared visits.
- Know the conditions that must be met for incident-to billing
- Understand how teaching-physician rules change who may bill and what must be documented
- Be able to work through a shared-visit scenario involving a physician and a non-physician practitioner
Domain 4: Ancillary and Surgical Procedures
This is the most distinctly cardiology-specific area: heart catheterization, coronary interventions, pacemakers, peripheral vascular procedures, and related services.
- Work through multi-component catheterization scenarios step by step
- Practice coronary intervention coding, where vessel-level details drive code selection
- Review device-related procedures such as pacemaker services
- Cover peripheral vascular procedures, which are easy to under-prepare
Domains 5 and 6: Medical Terminology, Anatomy and Physiology
These two foundational areas support everything else. If you cannot parse a term or locate a vessel, you cannot code the encounter accurately.
- Cardiac chambers, valves, and the coronary vessels that appear in intervention notes
- Conduction system basics that underpin rhythm-related procedures
- Prefixes, suffixes, and root terms common in cardiology documentation
Approved Code Books and the Four-Hour Clock
One of the biggest influences on how you reach 70% is the open-book element. Approved code books are permitted during the exam, but unrestricted internet access is not. If you test remotely, remote equipment rules also apply, so confirm the technical requirements with your proctoring setup well before test day.
This changes what "preparing" means. You are not memorizing hundreds of codes; you are training yourself to navigate your books quickly and accurately under a four-hour limit. That means:
- Tab and annotate within the rules. Check AAPC's current guidance on what markings and notes are acceptable in your reference materials before test day.
- Use the code year that applies to your exam date. Code sets change, and the code-year rules in effect on the day you test are the ones that matter. A book from the wrong year is a hidden source of lost points.
- Practice looking up and verifying. Many missed questions come from choosing a code that looks right without checking guidelines and notes in the book.
Key Takeaway
Because 70 correct answers is the target and your books are allowed, accuracy of lookup beats speed of recall. Build the habit of confirming every code against the guidelines in your book before you commit to an answer.
Fee Mechanics and What a Miss Costs
The score you need is one side of the equation; the cost of missing it is the other. The Certified Cardiology Coder exam fee is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two attempts. AAPC membership is additionally required. No separate member versus non-member exam price tier has been verified, so rely on the figures above and confirm current pricing on AAPC's site when you register.
The two-attempt bundle is $74 more than a single attempt. Whether that is worthwhile depends on your confidence and your timeline. If your practice scores sit comfortably above the passing line, a single attempt may be reasonable; if you are still building your cardiology procedure knowledge, the bundle is a cheaper safety net than paying for a second single attempt later. For the full picture of fees, membership, and materials, see CCC Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Exams are delivered at Meazure Learning centers or through live remote proctoring with ProctorU. To understand eligibility before you register, review CCC Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify. There is no prior CPC or COC prerequisite, although specialty experience is recommended. For timing and scheduling, see CCC Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
A Score-Driven Prep Sequence
Since the goal is a number, it helps to sequence your preparation so that the foundations are solid before you tackle the procedure-heavy material. This is the one place a timeline helps, tied directly to the six competencies.
Foundations: Domains 5 and 6
- Review cardiac anatomy and physiology, especially vessels, chambers, and valves
- Build a cardiology terminology list from sample operative notes
- Reason: every later coding question assumes you can read the note
Note Abstraction and E/M: Domains 1 and 2
- Abstract diagnoses and procedures from practice notes
- Drill new versus established patient and consultation scenarios
- Practice ICD-10-CM and modifier selection side by side
Medicare Rules and Procedures: Domains 3 and 4
- Work incident-to, teaching, and shared-visit scenarios
- Spend the largest block of time on catheterization, coronary interventions, pacemakers, and peripheral vascular coding
Full-Length Timed Practice
- Sit 100-question practice sets using your approved code books
- Review every miss by competency, not just by question
Adjust this to your background. A coder who already works in cardiology may compress the early weeks; someone new to the specialty may need more time on anatomy and terminology. A one-page recap is available in the CCC Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts.
Setting Practice-Test Benchmarks
Because the real exam requires 70%, your practice scores should be read with a safety margin. A practice result sitting right at 70% is not a comfortable position: the real exam will contain scenarios you have not seen, and a few lookup errors can move you below the line. Aim to be consistently above the threshold, not hovering at it.
Use practice results diagnostically:
- Sort misses by competency. If most of your errors fall in coronary intervention coding, that is where the next study block goes.
- Separate knowledge errors from lookup errors. A lookup error means you had the resources but misapplied them, which is fixable with more deliberate book use.
- Rehearse under real conditions. Use the same books, the same time limit, and no outside searching, so the exam day experience is familiar.
You can build this routine with the CCC practice tests, and when you want more targeted question sets for each competency, head back to the main practice test site.
After You Pass: Keeping the Credential
Clearing 70% earns the credential, but maintaining it is an ongoing commitment. You must maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 CEUs every two years for one credential, including eight cardiology-specific CEUs. That cardiology requirement keeps your knowledge current with the specialty rather than letting it drift into generic coding.
If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, two articles are worth reading: Is the CCC Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CCC Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis. If you are thinking about career paths, the CCC jobs overview covers where cardiology coders tend to work.
Frequently Asked Questions
The passing standard is 70%. The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions and a four-hour time limit, so the practical target is roughly 70 correct answers. AAPC does not disclose whether any questions are unscored pretest items.
The weighting is not publicly verified. AAPC publishes the six tested competencies but not an official weighted blueprint, and the largest competency is unconfirmed. Prepare for all six rather than relying on rumored percentages.
Approved code books are permitted, but unrestricted internet access is not. Remote candidates must also follow equipment rules. Make sure you use code sets that match the code-year rules for your actual exam date.
The exam is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two attempts, and AAPC membership is also required. The two-attempt option costs $74 more than a single attempt, which can be a cost-effective safety net if you are not yet confident.
No CCC-specific pass rate is publicly disclosed. AAPC-wide success figures used in marketing are not specific to this exam, so they should not be treated as a pass-rate estimate. Use your own timed practice scores against the 70% line as your benchmark instead.