- What the CCC Actually Requires
- No CPC or COC Prerequisite: What That Means
- Experience and Training: What Is Recommended vs. Required
- AAPC Membership and Exam Fees
- Exam Format and Delivery Rules
- The Six Competencies You Must Be Ready For
- A Qualification Plan Built Around Those Competencies
- Maintaining Your Credential After You Pass
- Who Benefits Most From Qualifying
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Cardiology Coder credential is issued by AAPC and has no prior CPC or COC prerequisite.
- AAPC membership is required in addition to the exam fee: $325 for one attempt or $399 for two.
- The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, a four-hour limit, and a 70% passing standard.
- Maintaining the credential takes annual membership plus 36 CEUs per two years, including eight cardiology-specific CEUs.
What the CCC Actually Requires
The Certified Cardiology Coder (CCC) is a specialty credential offered by AAPC, the American Academy of Professional Coders. If you are searching for "CCC requirements," it is worth being clear about scope: this article covers only the AAPC cardiology coding credential, nothing else that shares the acronym. If you want the basics first, see our explainer on what CCC certification is.
The requirements fall into four buckets:
- Eligibility: no prior CPC or COC credential is required to sit for the exam.
- Experience and training: specialty experience is recommended, but a fixed degree, training, or reference minimum has not been verified in the public materials we reviewed.
- Financial: an exam fee plus a required AAPC membership.
- Ongoing: annual membership and continuing education units (CEUs) to keep the credential active.
Because the formal gatekeeping is light, the real "requirement" is readiness. A 100-question, four-hour exam on cardiology procedures, E/M rules, and Medicare billing rewards candidates who have worked with cardiology documentation, not those who merely meet an administrative checklist.
No CPC or COC Prerequisite: What That Means
Many AAPC specialty credentials are perceived as add-ons that sit on top of the CPC. The CCC is different in one important way: AAPC does not require you to already hold the CPC or COC before attempting it. A coder can pursue the cardiology specialty directly.
If you already hold a generalist credential, you carry a real advantage, because the first two competency areas (note abstraction and E/M) lean heavily on skills you have already practiced. If you do not, plan a longer runway. Our CCC difficulty guide covers how background experience changes the preparation load.
Experience and Training: What Is Recommended vs. Required
This is the area where candidates most often ask for hard numbers, and where it matters most not to guess. Based on the public sources reviewed, AAPC recommends specialty experience for the CCC, but a fixed minimum for degree level, formal training hours, or years of reference experience was not verified. If you see a specific number of years or a mandatory course advertised elsewhere, confirm it directly with AAPC before relying on it.
| Requirement Type | CCC Status |
|---|---|
| Prior CPC or COC credential | Not required |
| Cardiology coding experience | Recommended; no fixed minimum verified |
| Degree or formal training program | No fixed minimum verified |
| Professional reference minimum | No fixed minimum verified |
| AAPC membership | Required |
| Exam fee | Required (see next section) |
What "recommended experience" realistically means for you: exposure to cath lab reports, device implant and interrogation documentation, stress testing and echocardiography reports, and cardiology E/M visits. If you do not have that exposure at work, build it deliberately through practice cases, as outlined in our CCC study guide.
AAPC Membership and Exam Fees
Two financial items are part of qualifying: the exam fee and an AAPC membership. The membership is required in addition to the exam fee, so budget for both, not just the exam line item.
| Cost Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Specialty exam, one attempt | $325 |
| Specialty exam, two attempts | $399 |
| AAPC membership | Required in addition to the exam fee |
| Member vs. non-member exam pricing | No separate tier verified |
The two-attempt option costs $74 more than the single attempt, which makes it a straightforward decision for anyone who is not already experienced in cardiology coding. Paying for a second attempt up front is generally cheaper than purchasing a standalone retake later, though you should confirm current retake terms on the AAPC site. For the full cost picture, including study materials and CEU expenses, read our CCC certification cost breakdown.
Exam Format and Delivery Rules
Knowing the logistics is part of qualifying, since a candidate who is surprised by exam-day rules can lose focus before the first question.
- Length: 100 multiple-choice questions. How many are scored versus pretest is not disclosed.
- Time limit: four hours.
- Passing standard: 70%.
- Delivery: Meazure Learning testing centers, or live remote proctoring through ProctorU.
- Reference materials: approved code books are permitted; unrestricted internet access is not.
- Remote testing: equipment and environment rules apply, so check them well before test day.
With a 70% passing standard, you can miss roughly 30 questions and still pass, assuming all 100 questions are scored. Since the scored/pretest split is not disclosed, treat that as an approximation rather than a guarantee. For more on the scoring line, see our CCC passing score guide, and for scheduling logistics see CCC exam dates and windows. We also discuss what is and is not known about results in our CCC pass rate analysis; the short version is that no CCC-specific pass rate is publicly disclosed.
The Six Competencies You Must Be Ready For
AAPC publishes six competencies that the CCC examination tests. These are issuer-published tested competencies, not an official weighted or exhaustive blueprint. No percentages or largest-weighted area have been verified, so any practice allocation you see (including ours) is an editorial study aid, not an official breakdown. Our complete guide to the six CCC content areas goes deeper on each.
Domain 1: Abstracting Notes and Applying Codes
Reading physician office notes and operative notes, then applying correct ICD-10-CM, CPT®, and HCPCS Level II codes and modifiers.
- Identify the documented diagnosis versus symptoms in cardiology encounters
- Select modifiers that reflect what was actually performed
- Distinguish what is separately reportable from what is bundled
Domain 2: Evaluation and Management Guidelines
E/M rules for new and established office and outpatient services, plus consultations and hospital services.
- New versus established patient determination
- Level selection for cardiology office visits
- Consultation and inpatient service reporting
Domain 3: Medicare Billing Rules
Regulations for Medicare billing, including incident to, teaching situations, and shared visits.
- When incident-to billing is and is not appropriate
- Teaching physician documentation expectations
- Shared visit rules between physicians and non-physician practitioners
Domain 4: Ancillary and Surgical Procedures by Cardiologists
Coding for procedures such as heart catheterization, coronary interventions, pacemakers, and peripheral vascular procedures.
- Catheterization and intervention code selection from procedure reports
- Pacemaker and device implant, revision, and related services
- Peripheral vascular procedures performed by cardiologists
Domain 5: Medical Terminology
The vocabulary needed to interpret cardiology documentation accurately, including procedure and condition terms found in reports.
Domain 6: Anatomy and Physiology
Cardiac and vascular structure and function, which is what makes procedure reports decipherable when you code interventions and diagnostics.
A Qualification Plan Built Around Those Competencies
Since there is no single gatekeeping credential to earn first, "qualifying" is really about sequencing your preparation so that foundational competencies support the procedural ones. This is the one place we recommend a structured schedule, and the order below is deliberate: terminology and anatomy first, because every procedure report in Domain 4 is unreadable without them.
Foundations: Terminology and Anatomy
- Cardiac chambers, valves, coronary and peripheral vasculature
- Terms that appear in cath, device, and imaging reports
- Why: Domains 5 and 6 unlock your ability to read Domain 4 documentation
E/M and Note Abstraction
- Cardiology office and hospital E/M scenarios
- Abstract diagnoses and services from sample notes
- Apply modifiers to practice cases
Procedures and Medicare Rules
- Cath, intervention, pacemaker, and peripheral vascular cases
- Incident-to, teaching physician, and shared visit scenarios
Timed Practice with Your Approved Code Books
- Simulate the 100-question, four-hour format
- Tab and annotate only within what the testing rules allow
Adjust the length of each block to your experience. A seasoned cardiology coder may compress the first two phases; a generalist new to the specialty may stretch the procedure phase. When you are ready to test yourself against realistic questions, try our CCC practice tests, and keep our one-page CCC cheat sheet handy for last-week review.
Maintaining Your Credential After You Pass
Qualifying is not a one-time event. To keep the CCC active you must:
- Maintain your AAPC membership annually.
- Earn 36 CEUs every two years for one credential.
- Ensure eight of those CEUs are cardiology-specific.
Key Takeaway
The eight cardiology-specific CEU requirement means your continuing education cannot drift entirely into general coding topics. Plan CEU activities that touch cardiology content, such as procedure updates or device coding changes, early in each two-year cycle rather than scrambling near the deadline.
Who Benefits Most From Qualifying
The CCC is most relevant for coders working in or targeting cardiology practices, cardiovascular groups, hospital outpatient cardiology and cath lab departments, and billing companies that serve cardiology clients. Employers in these settings value coders who can handle intervention and device documentation accurately, because those claims are complex and error-prone. If you are weighing the investment, our analyses of whether the CCC is worth it, CCC earning potential, and CCC job opportunities offer a fuller picture. Specific salary figures are not stated here because we only use verified numbers.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. There is no prior CPC or COC prerequisite for the Certified Cardiology Coder exam. However, the exam assumes working knowledge of ICD-10-CM, CPT®, and HCPCS Level II coding, so a generalist foundation helps considerably.
Specialty experience is recommended, but a fixed minimum for degree level, training, or professional references has not been verified in the public sources reviewed. Confirm any current requirements directly with AAPC before registering.
The specialty exam is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two attempts, and AAPC membership is required in addition. See our cost breakdown for a fuller budget view.
Approved code books are permitted, but unrestricted internet access is not. If you test remotely through ProctorU, additional equipment and environment rules apply, so review them ahead of your exam date.
Maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 CEUs every two years for one credential, including eight cardiology-specific CEUs. For a broader overview of the credential itself, see our page on CCC certification.