CCC logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Does CCC Mean?

TL;DR
  • CCC here means Certified Cardiology Coder, a specialty credential issued by AAPC for cardiology-focused medical coders.
  • The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions, a four-hour limit, and a 70% passing mark.
  • Fee is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two, plus required AAPC membership.
  • AAPC publishes six tested competencies, from note abstraction to cath, stent, and pacemaker coding.

The Short Answer: What CCC Means Here

On this site, CCC stands for Certified Cardiology Coder. It is a specialty certification from AAPC (the American Academy of Professional Coders) aimed at coders who abstract and code cardiology services: office visits for heart patients, diagnostic testing, catheterizations, coronary interventions, device implants, and peripheral vascular work.

If you landed here searching for the meaning of the letters, that is the whole answer in one line. The rest of this article explains what the credential covers, how the exam is built, what it costs to sit for it, and who actually values it. If you want a quick restatement of the acronym itself, our pages on what CCC stands for and CCC meaning cover the same ground in shorter form.

Why the Acronym Causes Confusion

Three letters carry a lot of weight in professional credentialing, and "CCC" is shared by several unrelated certifications across different industries. A search for the acronym can surface material about entirely different fields, certifying bodies, and exam formats. That overlap is why it helps to pin down the definition before reading anything else.

Verify before you act: Any fee, exam length, passing score, or renewal rule you read online may belong to a different credential that happens to share the acronym. For Certified Cardiology Coder, the issuer is AAPC. If a page you are reading names a different certifying organization, it is describing something else.

Everything below applies only to the AAPC specialty credential for cardiology coding. For a fuller walk-through of the term, see What Is CCC Certification? and What Is a CCC?.

What the Credential Actually Proves

A Certified Cardiology Coder credential signals that a coder can translate cardiology documentation into accurate diagnosis, procedure, and supply codes. Cardiology is one of the more demanding specialties to code because a single encounter can combine an evaluation and management service, a diagnostic study, and a therapeutic procedure, each with its own bundling rules and modifier requirements.

The credential is a specialty add-on to general coding competence rather than an entry-level starting point. In practice, employers read it as evidence that you can handle the documentation patterns cardiologists produce: operative reports for stent placements, device interrogation records, and office notes that mix chronic disease management with testing orders.

What it is not

  • It is not a clinical license or a medical credential. It certifies coding knowledge, not the ability to treat patients.
  • It is not a replacement for general coding fundamentals; it assumes you already understand how ICD-10-CM, CPT®, and HCPCS Level II work together.
  • It does not by itself guarantee a particular job or pay level. See the CCC salary guide for how earnings are discussed qualitatively.

The Six Competencies Behind the Letters

AAPC publishes six competencies tested by the Certified Cardiology Coder examination. These are issuer-published areas of knowledge, not an official weighted blueprint, so no percentage should be assigned to any of them. That also means no single competency can honestly be called "the largest." Treat all six as testable. For a deeper breakdown, read the complete guide to the six CCC content areas.

Domain 1: Reading and abstracting notes to assign codes

Ability to read and abstract physician office notes and operative notes to apply correct ICD-10-CM codes, CPT® codes, HCPCS Level II codes, and modifiers.

  • Pulling the codable elements out of a long operative report
  • Linking diagnoses to the services that justify them
  • Choosing modifiers when multiple procedures occur in one session

Domain 2: Evaluation and management guidelines

Understanding E/M guidelines for new and established office and outpatient services, plus other E/M services such as consultations and hospital services.

  • Distinguishing new from established patients
  • Selecting a level of service from the documentation
  • Recognizing when an E/M is separately reportable alongside a procedure

Domain 3: Medicare billing rules

Knowledge of rules and regulations for Medicare billing, including incident to, teaching situations, and shared visits.

  • When a service billed under a physician qualifies as incident to
  • How teaching physician documentation affects billing
  • How shared visits are attributed between a physician and a nonphysician practitioner

Domain 4: Ancillary and surgical procedures

Coding of ancillary and surgical procedures performed by cardiologists, such as heart catheterization, coronary interventions, pacemakers, and peripheral vascular procedures.

  • Cardiac catheterization component coding
  • Coronary intervention coding, including how multiple vessels and lesions are reported
  • Pacemaker and device implant, revision, and interrogation coding
  • Peripheral vascular procedure coding

Domain 5: Medical terminology

The vocabulary of cardiology and surrounding specialties, which is what makes documentation readable in the first place.

Domain 6: Anatomy and physiology

Heart chambers, valves, coronary and peripheral vessels, and conduction pathways, because procedural code selection frequently hinges on exactly where a service was performed.

How the Exam Works

The Certified Cardiology Coder exam is a single sitting with a fixed structure:

ElementDetail
IssuerAAPC
Format100 multiple-choice questions
Time limitFour hours
Passing mark70%
DeliveryMeazure Learning testing centers or live remote proctoring through ProctorU
ReferencesApproved code books permitted; unrestricted internet access is not

Two details matter for how you prepare. First, because approved code books are permitted, the exam rewards fluent navigation of the books rather than memorizing code numbers. Know how to move quickly between CPT® sections, guidelines, and ICD-10-CM chapters. Second, four hours for 100 questions is generous on paper, but scenario questions built from operative notes take real time to abstract, so practice reading cases under a clock. The platform does not disclose how many questions are scored versus pretest, so answer every item with equal care.

Remote testers should also expect equipment and environment rules from the remote proctoring delivery, and should confirm them well before test day. For timing questions, see CCC exam dates and scheduling, and for how the cutoff works in practice, see the CCC passing score explained.

What about the pass rate?

A CCC-specific pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Broader AAPC-wide marketing figures should not be read as a Certified Cardiology Coder number. Our CCC pass rate discussion explains how to think about this gap, and how hard the CCC exam is addresses difficulty without leaning on unverified statistics.

Fees, Membership, and Registration

The specialty exam fee is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two attempts. No separate member versus non-member exam fee tier has been verified. However, AAPC membership is additionally required, so budget for membership on top of the exam fee. The full picture, including what is and is not included, is laid out in the CCC certification cost breakdown.

One attempt or two? The two-attempt bundle costs only $74 more than a single attempt. If you are testing without much cardiology production experience, the bundle is a cheap hedge. If you have years of hands-on cardiology coding and have been scoring well on timed practice, a single attempt may be enough.

Eligibility

There is no prior CPC or COC prerequisite for this credential. Specialty experience is recommended, but a fixed degree, training-hour, or reference-experience minimum has not been verified. In plain terms: the credential is open to you, but walking in without cardiology exposure makes the procedural domain much harder. Details on qualifying are in CCC requirements.

Who Hires Certified Cardiology Coders

Demand comes from settings where cardiology volume is high and coding errors are expensive:

  • Cardiology group practices, where coders handle office visits, in-office diagnostic testing, and procedure billing for a panel of cardiologists.
  • Hospital cardiology departments and cath labs, where operative documentation for catheterizations, interventions, and device implants must be abstracted accurately.
  • Multispecialty medical groups with a cardiology service line that needs a dedicated specialist.
  • Billing companies and revenue cycle vendors that serve cardiology clients and want coders who recognize cardiology-specific denial patterns.
  • Auditing and compliance roles, where the Medicare billing rules in Domain 3 matter for reviewing incident to and shared visit claims.

Because employers differ widely in how they describe these roles, browse CCC jobs to see how postings typically frame the credential, and weigh it against your goals in whether the CCC is worth it.

Keeping the Credential Active

Earning the letters is half the commitment. To keep Certified Cardiology Coder active you maintain annual AAPC membership and complete 36 CEUs every two years for a single credential. Of those, eight must be cardiology-specific. That requirement is a useful signal: the credential expects you to keep current in the specialty, not just coding generally.

Code-set updates matter here too. Use the code-year rules that apply to the date you actually sit for the exam, not the date you started studying. A candidate who studies in one code year and tests in another can be caught off guard by changed guidelines, particularly in E/M and procedural sections.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Competency

Since AAPC does not publish weights for the six competencies, the sensible approach is to order your study by dependency: vocabulary first, then the rules, then the heavy procedural coding that draws on everything else. This is a sample ordering, not an official schedule.

Week 1

Terminology and anatomy (Domains 5 and 6)

  • Map the heart chambers, valves, coronary arteries, and conduction system
  • Build a cardiology term list from real operative notes
Week 2

E/M and note abstraction (Domains 1 and 2)

  • Practice pulling diagnoses and services from office notes
  • Work new versus established patient and level-of-service scenarios
Week 3

Medicare billing rules (Domain 3)

  • Drill incident to, teaching physician, and shared visit scenarios
Weeks 4-5

Procedures (Domain 4)

  • Cath, coronary intervention, pacemaker, and peripheral vascular coding
  • Timed full-length practice with your approved code books

For a fuller plan, see the CCC study guide, the one-page CCC cheat sheet, and the overview on CCC training. When you are ready to test your recall under realistic conditions, try the CCC practice tests and use our question bank to find your weakest competency before exam day.

Key Takeaway

Treat all six competencies as testable and spend extra time on Domain 4, because procedural coding is where cardiology-specific knowledge is hardest to fake. Practice with your approved code books open, since navigating them quickly is part of the skill being measured.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CCC mean in medical coding?

On this site it means Certified Cardiology Coder, an AAPC specialty credential for coders who work with cardiology documentation, procedures, and billing rules.

How many questions are on the Certified Cardiology Coder exam?

The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions with a four-hour time limit. A score of 70% is required to pass. The split between scored and pretest questions is not disclosed.

How much does the CCC exam cost?

The specialty exam fee is $325 for one attempt or $399 for two attempts. AAPC membership is additionally required, so total cost includes membership.

Do I need CPC or COC before taking the CCC?

No prior CPC or COC is required. Specialty cardiology experience is recommended, though a fixed degree, training, or experience minimum has not been verified.

What are the renewal requirements?

Maintain annual AAPC membership and earn 36 CEUs every two years for one credential, including eight cardiology-specific CEUs.

Ready to pass your CCC exam?

Put this into practice with free CCC questions across every exam domain.